Tinted windows are a popular way to improve the look of your car and protect yourself from the sun’s harmful rays. But, are they legal in Colorado? The answer is yes, but there are some restrictions.
Windshields can be tinted as long as the tint does not extend below the AS-1 line. Front side windows must allow more than 24% of light to pass through them. Rear side windows and back windshields can be any darkness.
There’s no state law in Colorado specifically prohibiting tinted car windows, so as long as your vehicle meets the other window visibility requirements set forth in the state code, you should be good to go. That said, it’s always a good idea to check with your local police department or DMV office to see if there are any city or county ordinances in place that regulate window tinting.
Is a 5% Tint Legal in Colorado?
Yes, a 5% tint is legal in Colorado. The front windshield can have a non-reflective tint that allows up to 70% of light transmission. The front side windows must allow more than 43% of light transmission.
The back side windows and rear window can be any darkness.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Colorado?
Colorado law enforcement officers can pull you over if they believe your vehicle’s window tint is too dark. The legal limit for front windshield tint in Colorado is 25 percent light transmittance. For side and rear windows, the limit is 35 percent.
If a police officer believes your window tint violates these limits, he or she can cite you and order you to have the film removed.
Is Colorado Strict on Window Tint?
If you’re considering tinting the windows on your car in Colorado, there are a few things you need to know. The state has some of the strictest laws in the nation when it comes to window tinting, and if you don’t follow them, you could end up with a hefty fine.
Here’s what you need to know about window tinting laws in Colorado:
-The front windshield can have no more than 30% tint. -The front side windows can have no more than 27% tint. -The back side windows can have no more than 27% tint.
-The rear windshield can have no more than 20% tint. There are a few exceptions to these rules. If you have a medical condition that requires darker window tints, you can apply for a waiver from the state.
And if your car came from the factory with darker tints, those tints are grandfathered in and legal. But if you’re thinking of adding aftermarket tints to your car, make sure you stay within the law or you could be facing a fine of up to $100!
Colorado Window Tinting Law – What You Need to Know for 2019 and 2020
Is 5 Percent Tint Legal in Colorado
There are a few states that have strict laws regarding window tinting, but Colorado is not one of them. In fact, you can get your windows tinted up to 5 percent without any issue. This means that you can still see through your windows when driving, but there will be a slight tint to them.
This can be a great way to reduce the amount of sunlight that comes into your car, which can make it more comfortable to drive in during the summer months.
How Much is a Ticket for Illegal Tint in Colorado
If you get caught driving with illegal tint in Colorado, you could be looking at a pretty hefty fine. Depending on the severity of the offense, you could be fined anywhere from $50 to $500. And if this isn’t your first offense, the fines will only get higher.
So if you’re thinking about getting your car’s windows tinted, make sure to do your research and find a reputable shop that will give you the legal amount of tint. Otherwise, you could end up paying for it in more ways than one.
Colorado Window Tint Law 2022
Colorado’s window tint law is changing in 2022! The new law will allow for a light transmittance of 35% on the front windshield and driver and passenger side windows. This is an increase from the current law, which allows for a light transmittance of only 28%.
The changes to the law are meant to give drivers more visibility while still providing some protection from the sun’s harmful rays.
Is 20 Tint Legal in Colorado
As of August 1, 2019, Colorado has updated its window tinting law to allow a maximum light transmission of 20% for the front windshield and driver and passenger side windows. The front windshield can have a strip of tint at the top of the windshield that is no more than four inches wide. The rear window can be any darkness.
In Colorado, it is legal to have your car windows tinted as long as the light transmittance of the film is above a certain percentage. The amount of tinting that is allowed varies depending on the type of vehicle and the location of the window being tinted.